ACE Cobra/Apache Gunner Questions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ACE Cobra/Apache Gunner Questions

Hey everyone, I'm pretty new to ArmA and ACE and I just fired it up with my buddies yesterday. We came across a Cobra Gunship and I'm pretty clueless as to what to do to successfully operate the gunner's role.

Some things I couldn't figure out, though a full explanation would be nice as well:

Is there a FLIR screen as the Cobra Gunner? Or is it just that overlay thing?

How come when I choose some weapons using the scroll wheel, some of them don't work and some of them lock my screen facing forward?

Other small stuff I can't remember, but I'll work with the responses.

Thanks in advance!

| |

Re: ACE Cobra/Apache Gunner Questions

The lock you forward because you have to enter the interface to use them. Mouse button 2 will drop you to your camera and you can operate the gun. Different types of ammo are selected here, such as High attack vectors, or direct attack. Main key is patience, most CAS birds don't make it past 5 minutes due to inexperience and lack of patience.

Comment

not sure if you would know this or not, but you can also go into the mission editor and place one (double click on the map, navigate the list of units until you find the one you want), set "Player as Gunner", and change its setting of "In Formation" to "Flying" ... then hit OK, hit the PREVIEW button, and fool around with it until you figure it out.

Comment

to look through the sights press V by default, the overlay is pretty much just an extended HUD. To use hellfire missles you must turn on the laser designator via the scroll menu. To use tows you must be stationary and all you have to do is have the tows selected then point and click where you want it to go. hope this helps
        |TG-73rd|Socomseal