A Few Quick Q's

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A Few Quick Q's

I figured I would try my hand at mission editing, but I'm new to ArmA editing and have a few questions, regarding things like scripts. I've read through a bunch of tutorials and got all the basics down. I'm new to programming so I got that the quickest. However, I am having a hard time understanding a few things about scripts I can download.

First Question: If I find a script, such as EOD mod (Link) does the server itself need anything to use it? Am I limited on what scripts I can use based on what the server already has?

- I think I just answered this question by reading the requirements for this specific script, but feel free to elaborate.

Second Question: What is the difference between "Condition" and "On Act."

- I realize On Act is On activate, so would condition just be "Only happen if so on..."? Can anyone give me an example on it's usage?

Third Question: What EXACTLY do I need to set in order to have missions as fluent at the start as other missions I've played.

- When I start these missions, everyone has the default gear for their entity. I THINK I may have to run a script for everyone individually to remove or place items, but I'm not positive.

For someone who just started looking at the editor last night, you can see I'm not entirely lost. I have a direction, I just want some clarification early on so I don't make the mission unplayable.

Any other tips that could help me get my missions up and running on TG server ASAP would be good too. I don't want any issues as far as playability. I can obviously test the mission itself, such as objectives and so on, but anything that may happen between the mission and the server or other clients I won't know about... a heads up would be nice on common errors or something.

Thanks! Butler.

I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones. -Albert Einstein