3D and 2D Editor Questions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3D and 2D Editor Questions

im new to mission making but im wondering, how can i make a mission in 3D editor and than later edit it in 2D. From what i have noticed in 3D there are no modules, or i can find them at least, so what do i do for modules? also the scripting box names are different so its a little confusing.

Any help is apreciated

Re: 3D and 2D Editor Questions

You cannot edit the mission in the 2D editor. See, the 3D editor really isn't a 3D editor. its a mission. The mission your playing outputs a mission.sqf script. You can slightly modify that script and then spawn in the elements you placed in it into your mission. I would only use the 3D editor if you want to dynamically spawn in some things in your mission and they require precision placement. Using the 3D editor is WAAY slower than using the 2D editor and triggers and waypoints can be a big pain to get to work right in the 3D editor.

We need to get the community to put increasing pressure on BI to release a True 3D editor with all the 2D editor features.

Join me in the cause my brother!
    Never tell people how to do things. Tell them what to do and they will surprise you with their ingenuity. - General George S. Patton.

Comment

Originally posted by GeneralCarver View Post
      You cannot edit the mission in the 2D editor. See, the 3D editor really isn't a 3D editor. its a mission. The mission your playing outputs a mission.sqf script. You can slightly modify that script and then spawn in the elements you placed in it into your mission. I would only use the 3D editor if you want to dynamically spawn in some things in your mission and they require precision placement. Using the 3D editor is WAAY slower than using the 2D editor and triggers and waypoints can be a big pain to get to work right in the 3D editor.