No announcement yet.

Campaign: Tears of the Lion(WIP)

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Campaign: Tears of the Lion(WIP)

So this is my first attempt at making a campaign or mission for that matter. This is a project I started a little over a week ago. I originally intended to make a mission for a friend of mine to play in order to learn some basics for the game once he finally gets a new computer and buys ArmA 2. As I was making the mission a million different ideas popped into my head. Soon I had a combined arms mission featuring a large scale helo insertion, a full platoon of infantry, CAS support, and spec ops teams with their own personal objectives(HVTs and weapons caches). Once I finished the basic concept, and the concept of a hostage rescue mission(run by CDF and Army Special Forces) which takes place 2 days after my first mission, i started to think of a story line, i wanted make a realistic reason why the US and CDF were fighting in the region. So heres a teaser of the story line, just a time line of events(going all the way back to 1991) leading up to to the beginning of the campaign(2011).

January 4th, 1991: Tensions between the Democratic Republic of Afrene and Communist Molatia begin to rise as Molatian food supplies begin to dwindle. Afrenian government refuses to send aid.

March 22nd, 1991: Molatia, in a desperate attempt to gain food supplies for its people, raid Afrenian farms for food. Afrenian Army retaliates, beginning the First Duala War.

April 20th, 1992: After over a year of bloodshed and war, UN peacekeeping operations begin lead by CDF forces.

May 1st, 1992: A cease fire agreement is signed, creating a DMZ, splitting the island in half. Ends First Duala War

February 2nd, 2003: CDF peacekeepers pull out of the region.

March 22nd, 2003: On the 12th anniversary of the First Duala War, Molatia invades Afrene. Starts the Second Duala War