Sudden GPU preformance loss

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sudden GPU preformance loss

I have been experiencing some strange performance issues in a lot of games that I play, today. I started playing Team Fortress 2 (Not very demanding game) and it was getting like 25-30 FPS. I thought "Huh, maybe just some server lag." So after that, I started playing GTA 4. I usually get like 30-40 frames but I was now getting 20-25. I tried toning down the graphics to no avail. Then I fired up ARMA 2 with I44 and I got 25 FPS with medium graphics and 1500 render distance. (I usually play at 4000 with high graphics.) I'm pulling my hair out trying to figure out a solution. All the times I was playing I was watching my temperatures and they were like 50-60 degrees. Nothing unusual. If somebody has some sort of solution I'm open to any suggestions. Yesterday, I installed some new windows updates. That might have done it, but I don't know how to back-track it.

Anyway, if somebody could help that would be greatly appreciated. My specs are:

Operating System
    MS Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1
    CPU
    Intel Core i7 2720QM @ 2.20GHz
    Sandy Bridge 32nm Technology
    RAM
    8.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
    Motherboard
    ASUSTeK Computer Inc. G74Sx (CPU 1)
    Graphics
    Generic PnP Monitor ([email protected])
    2047MB GeForce GTX 560M (ASUStek Computer Inc)
    Hard Drives
    488GB Western Digital WDC WD5000BPKT-80PK4T0 (SATA)
    488GB Western Digital WDC WD5000BPKT-80PK4T0 (SATA)

One more note: I'm running this on a laptop.
    sigpic

Re: Sudden GPU preformance loss

If you were playing the single player mission, you may have experienced some form of "lag". That's just the mission design, a poorly made one.

As for performance of your GPU. Check your driver version for any updates via windows, if not visit the website for more info.