No announcement yet.

New to Arma

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Arma

Hi guys,

Im new to Arma (normally PR) and would like a few pointers.

My system basics are as follows: Athlon dual core 2.41, 2 GB ram, Nvidia 8800 GTS o/c 2 320MB (580 and 1700 mhz)

What kind of performance can I expect. I run a Samsung Syncmaster 24" monitor and have been playing at 16 by 1050 up to now and I still experience some noticeable slowdown with foliage. Also I get some usually fatal scope lag in combat lol.

If I should upgrade my gfx card what would you recommend. I thought about the new top end 1gb cards from Nvidia but I don't want to have to upgrade my PSU as well as I am saving to build a complete new system. Current PSU is 550w I think. I thought about faster RAM but I am dumber than dirt with computers so thought a new card would be the best bet.

Second server.

I bought the Gold edition with Queens Gambit and it has only got one short cut/start up on the desktop, so how do I get things sorted so I can join the second server eventually?

I considered myself a reasonably tactical gamer who could handle a rifle pretty well in PR and most other FPS. Having played some of the single player missions on ARMA I have found that:

1) I am apparently an average shot at best, at least in terms of target aquisition

2) I have no idea how to move tactically using cover and the contours of the land as I am usually spotted, however carefully I proceed.

3) I possibly have bells attached to my boots when moving as I seem to attract a lot of attention.

4) The lag affecting my system watches me as I play and intervenes at the most 'hilarious' moments, usually when I have finally figured something out but am engaged in a firefight.