texture detail problem

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• texture detail problem

Hey guys, I am having this problem with ARMA 2 since I installed it on windows 7 64bit. I had the exact same problem with arma 1 on my old computer, on windows XP, but I atributted it to lameness of my computer and kept on playing that way. Its not a big problem, but annoying. Textures start improving detail slowly when I come close/turn towards objects, and take some time (few seconds or more) to turn into high res texture. Sometimes they just stay low res.
    I have Core2Duo 3ghz, 8gb DDR2 and GeForce 9800 GT 1gb VRAM.
    It used to be normal on windows XP 32 32bit and ran a little slower because of windows XP RAM limit.
    All settings are on VH except terrain and object detail that are on normal and that blurrness thing is off.
    any ideas?

Re: texture detail problem

I'm no expert but to me, it sounds like you need a faster hard drive to load the textures quicker. Don't hold me to that its just what it sounds like to me :)
    I'm sure there's plenty of guys on here who can tell you more.

Comment

I too have ArmA on Win7 Pro 64bit. Significant increase in performance as compared to WinXP.
      I installed the game but it was installed within the 32bit folders, "Not Program files (x86)."

Things to check for;
      Create a brand new player config via the game after install.
      Install the patches in order (latest patch is 1.05)
      Install ACE2 and TGmaps via our Yoma.

Tweak setting;
      In your My documents folder, you should see a new folder called "ArmA2." Within that folder you'll see a file called "ArmA2.cfg"
      Scroll all the down to "GPU_MaxFramesAhead=1", and "GPU_DetectedFramesAhead=1"