Trouble with Training Mission 3: Max G Turn At Corner Speed

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trouble with Training Mission 3: Max G Turn At Corner Speed

Hi folks, I am really new to flight sim and Falcon 4.0 AF, and I am struggling a bit with the training missions, moving along rather slowly.

I'm following the fat (719) pages manual, and on page 27 it says that if my aircraft is above 330 knots I should be able to pull a 9 Gs with my Viper. However, even though I was at 15,000 feet with an airspeed of around 415, I can't reach max G. What's worse, as soon as I pull back on the joystick in a left roll to do max g turn at 15,000 feet, the airspeed drops rapidly, making it very difficult for me to complete the turn. Eventually, I have to ease the pull a bit to maintain the corner airspeed. I got the impression from the manual that we are supposed to maintain a fairly high G during the turn... is this correct? If so, what's the trick involved in keeping the jet in the corner airspeed bracket without sacrificing on the the turn rate and turn radius?

In the training mission we are told to roll the jet in 75 - 85 degrees. I notice that the ADI is equally divided with small markings, and I was able to find the banking angle between 70 - 80. But it is difficult to keep an eye on the ADI while making the turn. Is there a way to get this info to display on the HUD?

Thanks a lot for your help, and I really appreciate this special forum for newbies!

Re: Trouble with Training Mission 3: Max G Turn At Corner Speed

There is a bank angle indicator on the hud (bottom) but really, all you need to do is guestimate it. As for the turn itself, just before you perform the turn throttle all the way forward to AB. The F16 turns best between 330 and 450 knots.