Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Possible to keep 05 (non beta) server alive a little longer?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Possible to keep 05 (non beta) server alive a little longer?

I am new to the server side of things so this is probably a dumb question....but, here it goes. I love TG and PR but dont want to move to the beta immediately...is it possible to have a version 5 (or whatever it is) server kept on until the beta is no longer beta?

You know more than I do so be gentle, or I'll frag ya!

Thanks, StevieRay
    sigpic Sometimes I rip, other times I RIP.

Re: Possible to keep 05 (non beta) server alive a little longer?

Stevie, I know what you're thinking and theres probably a lot of others thinking the same thing: it's a beta, beta builds are usually unstable and very buggy, so why risk having a buggy server when we have a stable build at our disposal?

Well, the answer isnt exactly simple in and of itself, but it's easy enough to understand.

The current beta build is 0.607rc1. The RC is the important part. RC stands for "release candidate", which means that it's a build in which most (if not all) of the major bugs and most of the minor bugs have been worked out. In addition to this, we've been informed that 0.6 will be finalized within the next week or two.

So, that being said, why not go ahead and move over to the new build so people can get familiar with the changes? That's the step that has been taken and it's going to be a positive one, of that im sure.

Also, downloading the file isnt that hard. I know 2gb seems like a huge file to download and would take all day. The longest reports ive heard were around 4 hours. However, I managed to download it in under 45 minutes. As long as people keep seeding the torrent (meaning that you leave your bit torrent client running after the download is finished so other people can use you as one of their download seeds), download speeds should continue to be very very nice.