Squad Leadership

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Squad Leadership

Although a newby here, I'm thinking about something that might possibly be worked on in PR.
    A while back I was enjoying an evening on a Project Reality server. As I said, I'm a rookie, but I suddenly found myself as a squad leader. "How the Hell did that happen?" I thought. Needless to say, I botched it up pretty well.
    Now, I'm thinking of the reality part of this, and I can't help wondering, how many times has a lowly PFC found himself in command of a major military operation?
    There are probably those out there like myself, who are either too new, or just do not want to be in command. So, how about this.
    Start a command school. A BF2 ROTC program, if you will. Those who feel they would like to lead would take the course. Then, when you log on, the present commander would ask, "Pooch, are you leadership qualified?" I'd say no or yes. If yes, he'd either write down my name, or make a mental note, and if he is killed or has to leave he'd hand the unit over to me.
    I think this would help to make the mod more realistic, since of course, if the General is killed they don't just pick some poor GI out in the field and tell 'im, "Hey Private, you're in charge! What do we do?"
    It would keep guys from getting into situations they weren't comfortable with.
    You'd also get a better grade of C.O.!
    If the ROTC idea is too much, then those wanting to lead could at least acknowledge the fact that they had read the PR manual on squad leadership, and would like a chance to lead.
    Good or lousy idea? Be gentle!

Re: Squad Leadership

TGU has a few things coming down the road that will help you out. Until then I would say to hop in a squad with a good SL and ask questions about how things are done. Jump in any 6th Devils squad that is open.
    Retired 6th DB

Comment