Battlefield 2 Player in Finland

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Battlefield 2 Player in Finland

I don't know if folks have read about or have seen the news on the Battlefield 2 player that went to his school in Finland and killed a bunch of teachers and students last week. His screen name was NaturalSelector. Apparently that was more than just a BF2 nickname for him.

I have pretty strong feelings about BF2/PR being a great game and a great experience for serious gamers that enjoy the realistic combat experience and teamplay. I think PR is the latest evolution in games and game community that makes people with my gaming experience smile. I started playing paper wargames in 1978, starting with SPI / SSI magazine and moving on from there. When the x286 computer came out with a COLOR screen with 16 colors, computer gaming really started. I used to suffer through games on my Apple II PC with a real floppy disk to boot from to play Gettysburg back in the 1980's. To me, today's graphics and games are just amazing compared to the good old days of dice, rules and statistic sheets.

PR gaming should be a fun but serious experience, not an arcade game and certanly not something that takes people to the extremes like the guy in Finland. The main point of TG is the teamplay, so I think there is fundamentally a huge difference between what we are doing here with PR with the BF2 game engine and what arcade game teens do with BF2 as a "video game" that they use as a "theme" for just more first person shooting. I am sure the kid in Finland was sick and had many other problems, but what we do here as a gaming community is the extreme opposite of his world. This is a community and what we do is a team effort type of activity, not just to play and shoot and get asorbed in the game for the sake of the shooting and killing (on the screen).