was this oK?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• was this oK?

Last night on Jabal......the US (my team) lost everything. Dam, and both beaches.
    I was the only surviving member of a shore party on the west beach and I had a HAT. Useless. Looked for the APC, could hear him but not see him. Troops were coming in on my postion and when I popped up I saw three bunched together so I let the HAT fly killing them all. Desperation took over.

|
    |

Re: was this oK?

Not being an admin, I can't speak with authority. However, in that situation, I believe you have three choices:

1. Don't shoot a rocket, and die.
    2. Shoot a rocket, then die.
    3. Pull out the pistol, pop some useless shots, and die.

Seeing as how you had the rocket out, and a bunch of MEC heads popped up into your sights, they were hunting you down, you had no squaddies and no place to go, I wouldn't fault you for it. I have been in that situation and not fired. Guess what? I got shot, and we lost the HAT to the enemy. Had I fired, same situation. Whatever. Either way, it's vastly different from "I was up on a hill and I saw some dudes 300m out running across my field of fire toward east beach so blew 'em all to Tajikistan..." Know what I mean?

|
    |

Comment

I have to agree with Pilot here.

Sure, HAT-sniping infantry is against the rules, but there really needs to be some common sense involved, too. The server rules do not allow it, but the server also strives to stay as "true" to "realism" as it can. If, in real life, I were in that same situation, then those 3 MEC troops would all die from the HAT - it's them or me. I don't see them switching to pistols or knives when they see a lone HAT guy, and they surely aren't going to wait for you to draw your pistol before they open fire on you. I don't see anything wrong with what you did.

"You milsim guys are ruining the game."

Comment

Originally posted by d1sp0sabl3H3r0 View Post
        I have to agree with Pilot here.