When Lag Strikes Back!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When Lag Strikes Back!

So, I've had some close calls with the beast known as 'lag', and oft being a helicopter pilot, I've had to deal with a lot of near-death spikes.

A lot of the time, I am in the perfect position in and out of the lag spike to just barely save ourselves from certain death, then get the mission done and say 'apologies for the close one there guys, got a bit of lag up there'

However... I have found my match.

One round on Qinling; I was in the Lynx, extracting a squad from one flag to bring them quickly into the British Farm flag... Things were going fine; Found the troops on the ground, got in a hover despite the strange LZ they attempted, got everyone in within 15 seconds (non-hostile area), got us up in the air, and began flying just above the treeline to farm. It was a comfortable ride for me, I've been able to fly map of the earth for quite a long time. Then, we were in view of the farm. Just seconds away from getting to a safe LZ, I see a flash of a message on my screen, only for a split second... the famous 'You have lost connection to the server.'

And then, All of a sudden, I'm 4-5m off the ground, heading for a set of trees. I make a quick turn to slide just between 2 trees, make it through fine, with a lot of unwanted speed... and then, after making that close call, there was 3 trees... I tried my best to pitch up, only to scream fast into the tree, killing a Lynx, myself, and a full squad of men, when farm was capped, with bleed and no respawn...

That sucked.

Re: When Lag Strikes Back!

:( That's a shame. Nothing worse than not only killing your self but an entire squad when there is nothing you can do to prevent it.

I haven't flown on TG because I know I would cause aggravation from my constant lag related deaths. But unfortunately that's what you get when your an English TG'er playing PR.

I prefer keeping 2 feet on the ground any way.:)

Comment