Learn to fly with keyboard and mouse.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Learn to fly with keyboard and mouse.

Are there any good guides on how to learn to fly jets and helicopters with mouse and keyboard ?

Re: Learn to fly with keyboard and mouse.

I'm not aware of any but practice is always great. When a map is on that I don't like, I fire up local server and run imaginary missions dropping crates, landing on slopes and firing hydras. It can get lonely but you end up finding the quickest and safest routes while getting used to the control scheme.

Haikus are easy.
    But sometimes they don't make sense.
    Refrigerator.

Comment

I've no experience with the jets myself, but helicopters are quite easy to fly with the mouse with a bit of practise. The main thing to remember is that you should GO EASY on the controls. Overcorrecting on a helicopter WILL crash the vehicle almost without fail, since once you lose control you'll rarely have enough time to regain it. Certain vehicles are very bad for this. A slight twitch of the mouse is enough for most manoeuvres... or, it should be if you've got the sensitivity set high enough. If you don't, then the occasion when you need to make a rapid pitch change (common when you're trying to start or stop forward momentum) will find you only tipping slightly and not going much of anywhere.

All in all, practise is best. Find a training server and fly the suckers all over the place. Find out what kinds of moves are safe and what kinds will send you careening into a cliff face (hint: be very wary when rolls are involved, especially at low speeds) and figure out what it will take to make a good landing... even a slow, shakey one. Practise will speed it up later.

Comment

I use a joystick for flying jets
        but I've always been flying choppers with mouse and keyboard.

Practise Practise Practise :)
        the first tries will fail, but it gets better