Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

More run and gun than I originally thought?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• More run and gun than I originally thought?

I just started playing about a month ago and this game is an absolute blast. However, in the beginning I was very cautious as I learned the game and I tried to behave very slow and methodical, following the guides advice about kneeling/proning and waiting X amount of seconds for maximum accuracy, picking off guys from a distance, moving slow and looking at every corner for contacts, etc.

Now that I'm getting better at the game, I'm actually doing better with a more run and gun style. I always role with the squad, but when encountering contacts, rather than camping or staying back and peering out from a tree or around a corner (or whatever) to take contacts down, I'm doing better staying on the move. I'll flank, retreat if necessary and come in another way, rush in using cover/smoke, throw some nades or fire to suppress them and then move or flank in, or in close range I'll just hold down the trigger and charge at them with my gun firing like a madman - seems to take people off their guard - surprisingly with these tactics I'm doing much better than my previous slow/cautious approach. I never purposefully said "Let me try playing like this" but instead noticed I was getting more kills and surviving more often when situationally forced to play this way. This morning I logged out at 7-2 with 6 caches left to go. I've often been, not always, in the top 10 with a 2:1 or better kill ratio, which was unheard of for me in regular BF2/2142/BFBC2.

Anyone else find the same style works for them? I guess you can describe it as aggressive, or run and gun.

None of this applies if I'm the squad's Medic.