Flying help

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Flying help

Hey, just got the game a couple days ago, flying was beating my ass like a red-headed stepchild. Dug out my old joystick, works like a champ. Flying has improved drastically (damn keyboard piloting). However, it seems I'm having trouble with stability, landing and over all smoothness of flight. I can get from A to B, but staying in one spot to strafe with rockets or provide my gunner a clean shot is difficult to say the least. I haven't gone onto a populated server yet to fly A) because it's embarrasing and B) I don't want to waste my teams support. So I've been practicing on an empty local server but still having difficulty smoothing out the bumps. Any helps/tips/advice would be greatly appreciated.

Ok, smacking myself in the face a couple times here for this one. Recallibrated my joystick...

Re: Flying help

I'm no pro or anything, but the old cliche rings true: practise makes perfect. Me, I went from not being able to stay in the air for 5 seconds without crashing (in 'nam), to being able to fly, strafe, land etc. I'm far from perfect and my... situational awareness sometimes lacks (damn chimneys!) but I'm much better than I was.

You get a certain... nack for when to do what. Like riding a bike. When you tilt one way, you know which direction to steer into to pull out. If you can come to a complete stop-hover, ie no movement at all, straight from 100% velocity, then damn, you dont nead any help. I still cant, and wish I could.

Moral of this useless post is to practise, use finesse, tap various keys often to adjust direction when it is needed, and practise some more.

Oh, I use a keyboard though, so that might'nt be as useful to a joystick pilot. Sorry. :(

Comment

Less joy, more stick is a general policy I follow. Over compensating is what causes most people problems.