What should I expect from a "squad"?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What should I expect from a "squad"?

Ok, so I'm a complete battlefield 2 noob, but I've been playing the bf series for qutie a while. So I played a couple of games on your servers tonight, and, well, it was less than what the forums make it out to be.

Even in the best of the rounds, our squad had me, the sl, and a sniper near each other, one guy in a tank driving randomly between spawn points, and another guy or two half a map away. Then we were ordered to move, and I think we left another guy or two behind. And when we did eventually see a little combat, it was 1on1. Not a squad vs a squad. So I think it was happening on both teams.

Anyway, the question I suppose I'm asking is: how close should a squad stick together? How and when is it acceptable to get into the various vehicles and leave the squad, maybe for a tactical reason? How often do you get fragmented squads like this?

At one point, it was only about 20 people left on the 64 player server. We had no commander, so I stepped in. I had 3 squads. But the same icons (helo's, jets, and blips with numbers, which I assume to be squad leaders) stayed green regardless of which squad I clicked on. At first I thought it was because maybe there were two different squaddies in the one vehicle, but the jet was an f-18, and that didnt explain the "5" guy. What's the deal with that?

Last noob question. Heet seeking missile sites (the one with the dual barrels and binocular reticule). How do I get them to work? Lock, miss. Lock, miss. Lock, miss. Lock, team kill. Lock, miss. :(

Re: What should I expect from a "squad"?

Welcome to TacticalGamer

Keep trying the TG servers. Ocassionally you join a squad that is'nt great on the teamplay side of things.