Strategic idiosycracies - Conquest gametype issues

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Strategic idiosycracies - Conquest gametype issues

Hello everyone, I'm relatively new to TG.com, but I play BF2 on your servers exclusively because of the squad-joining rule. I enjoy teamplay a lot and I like to think I play fairly 'smart'. Note that I don't use voice much during the day because my girlfriend is working in the same room.

With BF2, Dice had the chance to really innovate their BF gameplay. Instead they chose to stick with their 'ticket' system and tack on a few desperately needed features (most notably commanders and squads). It's terribly frustrating to play a game with such strategic potential as BF2, only to have it devolve into near-futility 90% of the time. I think explaining these problems is going to be very cathartic.

I'll start with this: If an enemy helo is more than 20 seconds away from a pad it can repair on, it may be better for your team to damage the helo and chase it off than it would be to destroy it! Since all vehicles take 30 seconds to respawn and cost nothing otherwise, if you destroy the chopper it will be active again in 30 seconds. If you damage it and chase it off, it will have to spend time returning to the base and repairing, which often takes longer than 30 seconds. So you can actually put a helo out of commission longer if you intentionally do not fire the final shots. Ridiculous!