Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AA is underrated

First, there are two things AA emplacements aren't good at:

1. Score padding. If you want lots of kills, don't sit on an AA.
    2. Point defense. AA isn't going to save the tank your squaddie is parked in. Armor drivers have to be responsible for their own safety.

So, from a lone wolf and from a single squad perspective, AA isn't useful. But this isn't about you, or your squad. This is about how do you help your team win, and as a jet pilot I'm going to let you in on a secret that will help: AA is pretty annoying. Yes, if you fire your missiles at me, I'll probably dodge them. But guess what? While I'm dodging your missiles I'm not shooting at your teammates on the other side of the map.

Now, imagine having every AA position you control manned up. It doesn't happen often, but when it does it's really, really annoying as a jet pilot. I can't just drop flares or go into evasive manoevers whenever I hear the lock siren; if I did that I'd just spend the entire map flying in circles. Your jet pilots can fly right up to me, get a lock and pop a couple missiles into my tail, and the first warning I'll have is when my jet explodes around me. The AA position I just flew over can do the same thing.

I've heard people complaining that whenever they man up AA they just constantly get killed by the jets. Congratulations, you were doing a good job. You've managed to annoy that jet enough that his attention is now focused on you, not the rest of your team. And if you've got more than one AA emplacement manned, they can defend each other.

AA impedes the ability of jets to perform their offensive role.
    Last edited by jepzilla; 10-06-2005, 01:52 PM.

Re: AA is underrated

The way I see it, if you man AA you are simply giving them a priority target to focus on. Basicly you're plane fodder in lieu of some piece of armor or bunch of people who just spawned getting chewed up.