No announcement yet.

Seeing the Big Picture

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Seeing the Big Picture

Over the past few days, I've been attempting to learn how to see the big picture in BF2.
    The big picture on the battlefield is how the battle is progressing in the general area around you and your squad, and specifically, observing your opponents. It's situational awareness moved up a notch.

Seeing the big picture requires pulling your head out of combat and seeing what the enemy are actually doing, besides trying to kill you. You have to look at how they are doing it, from what direction, how quickly, with what and why.

It allows you to see maneuvers before they happen, and predict how the enemy will move to contact. Most importantly, it gives you the ability to whack the bastards easily.

A couple of simple tips to help you develop these skills
    (NB. I'm also a beginner at this, but I am trying to improve. Any comments are welcome)

-Watch your minimap at all times, and your large map whenever possible. Set them to a high transparancy so you can still operate effectively.
    Let's say you're at the NW base on Mashtuur, defending. You check your map, and see that at the hotel a small squad has spotted 2 enemy humvees moving up the road towards you. From this, you can see what areas of the defence you should reinforce, and can reposition yourself. Or, if the friendlies at the hotel spotted some enemy troops moving across the open desert, you can predict a number of things.
    For example, you can determine that those troops are an entire squad, and their squad leader must be dealt with. This means that you cannot simply sit back and defend, but must be proactive in completely eliminating the troops.

-Listen to your Squad-leader, or, if you are squad leader, listen to your commander.