Major lag with a ping of 13

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Major lag with a ping of 13

Ok, I started playing ranked servers yesterday, and go on the official UK servers based in Londen, so I get an excellent ping. But I still get loads of lag, with my game occasionally crashing, this is particularly annoying as it means I get 1 more death on my record because I can't fight back. Doesn't anyone know what could be causing this?
    |TG| Lorian
    Member since 18th February 2006

Re: Major lag with a ping of 13

check your video settings if they are to high you can experience lag like issues
    sigpic

Comment

Everything is set to low/off except gemetry (medium), texture (medium) and view distance scale (100%), my res is 1024x768 85Hz
      |TG| Lorian

Comment

you might want to lower your textures to low they are very system hungry try that and see if that helps. what kind of FPS are you running?
        sigpic

Comment

Ok I'll try that, then report the fps/lag I get.

For refernce I tried finding good settings the other day and I was seeing what fps I got with all the default settings and I got around 30fps on low.
          |TG| Lorian

Comment

http://www.secretsofbattlefield.com/hardware1.html Check out this site, it may have some tweaks that could help.

Also, everyone should have Geometry set to High. Why? I figured this out while co-piloting in choppers, where the pilot could see infantry and armor further away than I could. So, I set messed with the video settings, and it turns out that Geometry effects how far you can see "mobiles" (infantry, armor, jets and choppers etc...).

-StubbedToe

Comment

After resetting video settings it's much better to not only restart the game, but also delete all content of the following folder:
              c:\Documents and Settings\{Your Windows' user name here}\My Documents\Battlefield 2\mods\bf2\cache\