No announcement yet.

Ping Questions

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ping Questions

I know I have only been here a short while and I talk about my high ping-rate a lot. I'm not complaining per se, I'm just trying to understand more about it and how it affects my game play. I did find some great posts on adjusting for high ping. I do not suffer from any lag thankfully so for me high-ping is only about my slower response (spotting, reacting, etc.). I know I am new to BF2 and TG so I know I'm going to die a lot. I do expect to improve and further reduce my death rate and have already seen this in my mere ten days playing on TG servers. I do NOT intend on using a high-ping rate as a crutch or an excuse for poor team-work. If it inspires me to work harder, so be it.

As I alluded to above, I have a few questions about pinging in general and how it affects BF2 for me.

First, I know my biggest problem is that I live in Iceland which in case you hadn't noticed is a big island in the middle of the North Atlantic. As such, I have to cross a lot of water to get either to a North American or European server. Below is a shot of about 30 minutes of tracing during tac mod on 4/23. The 134ms is pretty standard for me on BF2 SRV#1.

I have two questions about this data that confuse me. I understand what the information below tells me. It says my round trip ping for srv#1 is 134ms, pretty good for a trans-atlantic connection. But, what I don't understand is how can the round trip to srv#1 be 134 ms when the roundtrip to every other hop before that (outside of Iceland) is MORE than 134 ms? This is not just a screenshot anomaly (I think) b/c I have seen this on the dozen or so times I have done similar traces.