BF2 won't start up.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• BF2 won't start up.

I suppose you get a lot of these around here. I'm new to the threads, I'd like to introduce myself. I'm Mac, I just bought Battlefeild 2 today and I'm having some problems getting it to work.
    I installed the deluxe edition retail copy, and clicked to play the game, only to have a 'Battlefield 2' screen pop up, some loading, and nothing but another black screen to take me back to my desktop.
    I started searching on the internet and found that a lot of people had my same problem, and many people suggested many things. Let me tell you what I've tried, and my system specs.

I've uninstalled BF2, and reinstalled it after the initial time.
    I've installed patch 1.4.1 full version.
    I've updated my video, and sound drivers.
    I've renamed the movies in the start-up so that I wouldnt have as many items starting me up.
    And I've rebooted a thousand times.

I checked the bare minimum for system specs, and everything checks out good, except the graphics card.

System:
    Microsoft Windows XP
    Media Center Edition
    Version 2002
    Service Pack 2

Computer:
    Intel Pentium 4 CPU 3.20GHz
    3.19GHz, 1.00 GB of RAM.

Adapter Type:
    Chip Type: Nvidia Quadro 4 980 XGL
    DAC Type: Integrated RAMDAC
    Memory Size: 128MB (!!ATTENTION!! THIS IS WHAT I WAS WORRIED ABOUT ON THE GRAPHICS CARD, EA SAYS THE GAME WILL RUN ON THIS MEMORY BUT WANTS 256 FOR BETTER GAMING)
    Adapter String: Quadro 4 980 XGL
    Bios Information: Version 4.28.20.19.15

If you notice anything right off the bat that is wrong, please notify me and I'll try it. If its going to cost more than 60$, I'd prefer a few more options before I fork out cash for a new video card.

THanks for your help in advance.

Re: BF2 won't start up.

that graphics card an onboard controller? If so that would be the only thing i see wrong.
    that sounds like a good idea trooper.
    -Vulcan

Comment