MD5Tool Mismatch - Shaders_Client error

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MD5Tool Mismatch - Shaders_Client error

The error message given in a pop up window after Punkbuster kicks me.

Error: Punkbuster Kicked player 'Player' ...MD5Tool Mismatch: mods\bf2\shaders_client.zip (len=2048)

Background: I am an IT professional in real life so diagnosing bugs or issues with my Win XP machine is not a new thing for me. Keep that in mind. From the release of Patch .756 I have had no issues at all with disconnecting or getting kicked for this particular error. There are the normal connection issues (Esc Button Fix) and punkbuster getting confused and generating an error (Punkbuster A or B .exe not running correctly) but this particular PB error has not occurred until today. Just keep in mind that nothing had changed, no new programs were installed and I have done nothing new to my computer since I last played PR. Which was on Friday morning, 3 days ago.

Attempted Fixes in order done.
    - Update of Punkbuster (Manual Update from evenbalance.com website)
    - Complete removal of all Punkbuster files including hidden .sys in Program Applications folder and then after restart of PC a manual installation of PB.
    - Turning graphics down even lower than they already were. No graphics changes had been made prior to problem appearing.
    - I have no modifications to my files with exception of renderer.drawfps 1 being put into my gamelogicinit.con file which I have since taken out to test if that was the reason. It is not.
    - Complete Removal of all BF2 related programs. All PR files and all BF2 files removed. Additional folders left behind after Add/Remove programs sequence manually removed. All registry entries for BF2 or PR that I could find were also removed. This includes all profiles and settings for users in Documents folder.
    - Defrag Hard Drive and CCleaner my Registry and Cache files.