Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thoughts of a noob

Hey guys!

I’m fairly new to SQUAD, but I am of purebred Project Reality stock.

I have felt a feeling of disorganization in most squads I have joined, as in SMs following the SL like lemmings, squad chat is spammed, and so on.
    So I took it upon myself to try to organize this chaos, and I found it hard making decisions with all the chatter and constant “suggestions” going on in my squad.
    Despite my relative inexperience with SQUAD I decided that I would try to implement one of my favourite things to do in Project Reality, Fireteams.

My hope with this was to limit squad chat to fireteam leaders (FTL) and SL while the rest of chat would be in local unless it was critical information.
    So I asked my squad if I could get two volunteers to FTL, and I think their names were…. Samwise and GamerAddicted(?). I split the squad up in two teams (TEAM1, TEAM2), one medic in each team and three riflemen while I was alone.

Lo and behold, it worked!
    The whole squad was onboard with the idea, plus I had two great FTLs.

Gone was the spam in squad chat, gone was the lemming-like behaviour as I could order the teams instead of calling out individuals.
    The only downside is that often the other team is way fast in capping flags compared to my squads.

So if you like to play slow and methodically, and would like to lead a fireteam, then come join my squads!

​​​​​​​

I was in that squad, Crawlingeye, and it was great to play as part of a fireteam. Fireteams were fundamental to the tactics of the 1st MIP so it felt very comfortable to me, and I think it was quite effective, especially considering how ad-hoc it all was. I'll be sure to look for your squads in the future.
    |TG-1stMIP|Mannerism​​​​​​​

Comment

Was good to see both you and mingmong the other night!

Comment

Originally posted by KeithMann View Post