Need help buying a Motherboard / CPU combo

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help buying a Motherboard / CPU combo

So after I finally got to measuring my FPS for BF3 it has become apparent that I am suffering because of my old computer (my current FPS runs between 25-40 with all my settings as low as possible). Thankfully Santa was good to me this year and I received a couple gift certificates that I can use towards an upgrade (though as a student I am on a limited budget). Basically I need the best motherboard / CPU combo for under $300 and it has to come from Tigerdirect.ca where my gift certificate is for.

To be honest I am not really sure what to look for, but after a brief look I would like feed back on the one below: It seemed like a reasonable choice and within my price range:

http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...12545&CatId=14

I would be grateful for any advice or suggestions since I know most people here probably know a lot more about this stuff than I do. The only other thing that might be relevant is that I believe my case will only support ATX and I believe Micro ATX as well (any way to check?) Also I am not opposed to buying the motherboard and CPU separate but I thought a combo would offer me some savings.

Any help would be great, thanks

Re: Need help buying a Motherboard / CPU combo

Hey Specterr,

I'm not fond of AMD much any more. So here is my suggestion. It's a much better processor (IMO) with a very simple motherboard (few bells and whistles):

i5-2500k ($224.97):
    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...161&CatId=6988

Intel DH61CRB motherboard ($74.97)
    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...964&CatId=7162

Now, this assumes that you already have DDR3 memory. Do you have DDR3 memory or should we wrap that into this bundle too?

"Everytime I read your posts I do it with Morgan Freeman's voice in my head as if he is narrating your life" - Aimed

Comment

Thanks Damonte...speedy response.