6870 massive freeze issues

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 6870 massive freeze issues

Firstly hi im new and i apologise im being one of those guys that askes for help before helping but im not very good with tech issues.

My problem is that i play BF3 allot but it crashes or freezes randomly, could be fine for hours, could last 30 seconds.

i've read some people saying they overclock it or increase voltage and it works fine but im afraid of doing anything like that in fear of breaking something without a bit of a guide/point in the right direction.so if i could get some advice on what i should do or try it would be a great help.

So far ive tried
    -reinstalling drivers and catalyst after a sweep in safemode
    -putting all graphics on low
    -checking temp
    -increasing fan speed

still nothing, ive tried various tech forums on bf3 and tried many things and nothings worked, all i can find is the suggestion to increase voltage or under/overclock.

setup is
    -AMD Phenom II x4 965
    -ASUS M4A79T Deluxe
    -8GB DDR3
    -Radeon Sapphire 6870
    core clock 900
    memory clock 1050
    GPU voltage 1175

If anyone could help id be forever greatfull, anythign else u need please ask. Thankyou

1.Do you get the the"driver has stopped responding" pop up in the bottom right or is it BSODing
    2.The issue may not even be your video card but your ram. Faulty ram can cause random crashes. Try eliminating that first by removing one stick and attempting to play. Then swap it around.
    3.download driver sweeper http://phyxion.net/item/driver-sweeper.html and delete all your amd drivers. Reinstall the latest drivers after reboot.

I run dual sapphire 6870s and I've been down this road a few times.
    sigpic

Former Pathfinder
    Former ARMA Admin
    Former ARMA TGU instructor
    Former TGU Headmaster
    Current Noob
    Im also pretty bad at World of Tanks -

Comment

Re: 6870 massive freeze issues