No announcement yet.

Narrative Weapon Guide (ARs, Carbines, PDWs)

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Narrative Weapon Guide (ARs, Carbines, PDWs)

Narrative Form Weapon Guide

Table of Contents
    1. Introduction and General Comments: Part 1
    2. Individual Weapon Breakdowns: Part 2
    3. Final Notes, Glossary: Part 3

I know when I started playing this game, it was difficult for me to get even basic information without being buried in numbers. This made it harder to understand. I think for most people, having a weapon guide for this game that takes all that data and summarizes and categorizes it.

This guide will focus on three classes of weapons: Assault Rifles, Carbines and PDWs. These weapons can be compared on a 1 to 1 basis, whereas other weapon classes have unique characteristics that make comparisons more difficult. The Sniper Rifle has high magnification scopes and zero ADS-Not Moving spread, LMGs have huge magazines, DMRs are only semi-automatic fire, and Shotguns work on a different model altogether.

This not coincidentally also fits more with my playstyle. If I'm at very long range, I'm more likely to figure out a way to close the gap than I am to try to trade shots.

Generally speaking, the game is DESIGNED to be something like this:

Now whether this is actually in practice how it works is another question. But I think at a glance this is helpful. If you know you'll be fighting within 8 meters, use a PDW or Shotgun. If you know your distance will be longer, or you want more versatility, choose a Carbine or an Assault Rifle. One of the reasons that Assault Rifles are so broadly used is that they give arguably the most versatility in the game.

Next to the three featured weapon classes you'll see their first shot spread. This is the spread you get if you're standing still and using your ADS (scope/RDS). You can see how distance quickly makes PDWs unattractive, while Assault Rifles remain accurate.