No announcement yet.

When I am Leading a Squad . . .

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When I am Leading a Squad . . .

I have been developing a method of squad leading appropriate to BC2 and have seen some great teamwork recently.

The method involves stripping down operating procedures to those that can be immediately communicated and followed by men with little training in standard operating procedures.

Keeping in mind that I realize that I am far from an expert level of player, and am an easy ticket for anyone from the feared 70th (and many others), and also keeping in mind that I am not making claims that this is the best way to play, herewith are some thoughts on my squad leading exercises.

Generally, here is what I am trying to do with my squad:

1) Keep everyone in the same field of action.
    This ensures that we all have the same immediate points of reference for calling contacts, and that we can bring collective fire on an enemy contact.
    2) Die less, kill more.
    This means playing as if your life counted. Every death is an interruption in situation awareness, and is usually the result of "player error". Force the enemy to make an error.
    3) Coordinated Re-engagement
    Usually we see people die, respawn, and immediately rush in. While this is sometimes appropriate, I am training my squad mates to move as a collective to the target. So I'll often call upon my men to spawn in on me and wait (obviously only when my position is secure). When all are spawned in, then they are sent out with a fireteam leader (whomever I designate as being on point). This dramatically increases the force ratio and increases the team's odds of success.
    4) Fire discipline
    Fire only when there is something to kill. Don't shoot at tanks or helos that you cannot take down. Don't engage enemies that do not need to be engaged as we move to a target.
    5) Retreat and Regoup
    Rarely used, but highly effective for regaining control of a situation.