Attack helicopter team effectiveness

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Attack helicopter team effectiveness

As someone who flew the bf2142 gunships a lot as a pilot, I just wanted to share my thoughts on being effective with the attack helicopter. My results have been mixed so far. Just like the gunships in 2142, the gunner is the primary q-spotter. However with BC2, the roles have changed in terms of the gunner not having a tv missile which was very effective against aerial and vehicle targets. The pilot now has the responsibility of destroying armor and so the gunner must prioritize as such. Gunners should first q-spot armor targets which show up in the pilot's heads up display as a triangle. Once this is done the gunner can move on q-spotting and strafing infantry (the most effective role for the mini-gun). In addition, if armor is heavily damaged the mini gun operator could finish off the vehicle or fleeing infantry. I know this sound like common sense but the pilot should try and avoid flying over the enemy positions. Yesterday, I witnessed a pilot who did this and kept the helicopter at a high altitude to avoid fire and it was obvious his gunner was q-spotting a lot and the pilot would fire missile volleys which was devastating against the Russian armor. Another thing this pilot did was to "slide " the helicoptor to the left and right while keeping the helicopter over friendly territory. It's has been best I have seen so far.

Anyone have any other thoughts?

AB
    "Press the red shiny button"~Vortex
    "I may give out, but I'll never give in." ~ Lou Bond "To the Establishment"

Re: Attack helicopter team effectiveness

My experience with the apache has been using it as a defensive tool. I hover high and slide from side to side mainly to avoid RPG's and tracer darts.