Resources for a newbie?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Resources for a newbie?

I was wondering if any of you had any good links or anything(besides the SOP's, i have read them, read them again, and will read them a third time :))for a complete noob to CS. I'm VERY new at CS, i don't think i've played more them 6 hours total, but i enjoy the game, especially the way it's played here. It's a great change of pace from the BF2 that brought me here and I'd like to play more but i don't feel i do enough for the team. I try to follow orders the best i can but i don't know the maps and it can be frustrating to have to say that every map change but i know the only way to learn them is through practice. Do you have any good tips for aiming/movement and when to throw grenades(this seems to give me the most trouble)? Besides that, some basic tactics stuff would be helpful.
    Thanks
    Penguin

---

Re: Resources for a newbie?

The only thing about nades is that when u throw them try to stand still. It does take practice. The nade will go to whatever side you run. (running right, nade drifts right) You can run foward to get a little extre juice on the nades. For aiming you can type cl_crosshairscale 3000 in console and the crosshair gets more exact. if you are moving the shots wont be strait. The only thing i can tell you is to just keep practicing.

Ive heard people talking about making a target for a spray and just shooting that, but im not a big fan. If you'd like im getting onSetvet 1 now and we can play a little.

Comment

Steel,

There are some good posts in the tactics forum you should check out. Bump em and discuss them.

To learn maps you can either play them offline or just play them online. Eventually you'll get them. If i were you when i'm online i'd find a known good player to stick to and help watch his back.

Nades are an art form as has been discussed in the tactics forum. Using good movement/footwork will do alot for your game as well.