Problematic Audio: Any Ideas?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problematic Audio: Any Ideas?

Hey, all, I'm new to CS:S, and newer still to TG, but I love the game, and I like the concept behind playing tactically even more. I've played on the TG server a time or two, though, and communication is a mess.
    In general, the clearest message I get from voice sounds something like, "Mrrfle! Frrble drrfle squee . . . flarp." Some, as is normal in voice, are just so quiet I can't hear them.
    Now, if I have my volume pegged on windows sound control and around 75% on my stock Dell desktop speakers, the messages *approach* being understandable. For instance, the word "squee" from above becomes recognizable as "sniper," and I can sort of figure out what "flarp" meant while I'm in clicking around in spectator mode, courtesy of that squee up in the drrfle.
    Now, I have a usb headset - it's the socom set, runs on a logitech driver on XP, but it's not as useful as it could be here . . . those who've played Socom will have an idea what I'd consider ideal . . . voice in my ear, game sounds on the speakers. Totally possible that way, since my headset registers as its own audio card. I play DDO that way, or did for a month or so.
    So, after a lot of waggling my fingers, here's my question: Any way to optimize the audio here? I seemed to have a little success cranking the game volume down, but then you lose things like hearing the knife unsheath behind you, the other team hotfooting it past your hiding place unseen, etc.
    I'd be tickled to hear there's a client mod that will let you split voice off to a second sound card, ala DDO, but unsurprised if there's not. Any suggestions would be welcome, though, as constantly asking for orders to be repeated is sort of a game breaker.

PFC Quin
    Sayid the Torturer

Re: Problematic Audio: Any Ideas?

Welcome to the forums, PFC Quin.

lol and bonus points for using the word "flarp".