Jumping

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jumping

I played in the TG CS:Source server for the first time ever a couple days ago, and it has become one of my favorites. A lot of people can't get used to the rules and flood the voice/chat channels with complaints, but I like it a lot.

That being said, I had a few issues while I was playing. I am new to the maps, so over the course of three hours, I played on 5-6 brand new maps that I have never seen before. On "AAA," I apparently went too far forward while seeking a place to hide and cover bombsite B. With absolutley no warning from a team mate (or any TG affiliate), I see one of my teammates type and tell the other team to watch out for me because I am rushing forward. Does this not go against the whole teamwork principle?

Later, I was attempting to defuse the bomb (on the same level), when a sniper started shooting at me. I spotted him approximately 30 yards in front of me, crouched behind a crate. I looked to my left and saw a crate within jumping distance, so I jumped for it (getting gunned down in the process, losing the game for my team). As soon as I die, the first thing I hear over the radio is that I shouldn't be "jumping to avoid fire." First of all, jumping behind an object is not the same as senselessly bunny-hoppping to throw of someone's aim. However, I politely explained that in "real life", if someone was shooting at me, I would dive for cover wherever I could get it, and that I would not simply just stand there and duel it out with them.

Up to this point, things were fine: he stated his opinion, I stated mine. However, he then proceeds to tell what I would and wouldn't do in real life. This irritated the heck out of me, to have someone else tell me what MY actions would be in a real life situation. I let that one go, but it sure frustrated me.