Welcome to Tactical Gamer

User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: AGP question

  1. #1


    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    AGP question

    Will a 8x AGP card work in a 4x AGP mobo?

  2.  
  3. #2

    NewsWrthy's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    229
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: AGP question

    I am going to say yes, because I have done it in the past. my old pc(used till july04), had a 4x agp and I used an 8x 9200se radeon saphire card. both card and pc survived fine.

  4.  
  5. #3


    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: AGP question

    It sound like you are not 100% sure so does anyone else agree or know?

  6.  

  7. #4

    NewsWrthy's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    229
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: AGP question

    What kind of pc and card are we talking about?

  8.  
  9. #5

    TheFeniX's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Age
    34
    Posts
    3,281
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: AGP question

    Yes it will. But a 4x/8x card will not work on a 1x/2x board.

  10.  
  11. #6


    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: AGP question

    Quote Originally Posted by NewsWrthy
    What kind of pc and card are we talking about?

    I have one AGP 4x slot in my mobo 512mb of rdram and a 2.53gig P4 with 400mghz fsb and I am talking about a 6600gt.

  12.  

  13. #7


    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: AGP question

    Quote Originally Posted by TheFeniX
    Yes it will. But a 4x/8x card will not work on a 1x/2x board.

    So if a card says it is 8x then it is 4x/8x?

  14.  
  15. #8

    CingularDuality's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Dallas/Ft. Worth area of Texas, USA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    16,861
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: AGP question

    Quote Originally Posted by Jackson_T
    So if a card says it is 8x then it is 4x/8x?
    It's more complicated than that, but yes, your card will work...

  16.  
  17. #9

    TheFeniX's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Age
    34
    Posts
    3,281
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: AGP question

    Quote Originally Posted by Jackson_T
    So if a card says it is 8x then it is 4x/8x?
    Short Answer: Yes.

    Long Answer: An 8x card will operate in a 4x system, but will only run at 4x once it hits the Front side bus.

    Just like DDR333 RAM will work in a 266 Mhz FSB system. You are just wasting the extra Mhz.

  18.  

  19. #10

    =DdogG='s Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Ennis, TX
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: AGP question

    get the best card you can afford, then save up to upgrade the rest of the system later.
    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -Albert Einstein
    The two most common elements in the universe are Hydrogen and stupidity. -Harlan Ellison

    If all else fails: "rm -rf /"

  20.  
  21. #11


    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    NE Outer London, UK
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,428
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: AGP question

    AGPx8 and x4 are the same. so yes it will be fine

    however, a AGPx8 card in a AGPx2 board will die (i think) while a AGPx4 card in a AGPx2 board will be fine
    From Adam Webb

  22.  
  23. #12

    =DdogG='s Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Ennis, TX
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: AGP question

    AGP 1x, 32-bit channel at 66 MHz - maximum data rate of 266 megabytes per second; signaling voltages 3.3v

    AGP 2x, 32-bit channel at 66 MHz "double pumped" (effective 133 MHz) - maximum data rate of 533 megabytes per second; 3.3 V signaling

    AGP 4x, 32-bit channel at 133 MHz "double pumped" (effective 266 MHz) - maximum data rate of 1066 megabytes per second; 1.5 V signaling

    AGP 8x, 32-bit channel at 266 MHz "double pumped" (effective 533 MHz) - maximum data rate of 2133 megabytes per second; 0.8 V signaling

    In addition, AGP Pro cards of various types exist. They require more power and are often longer than standard AGP card (though they only connect to one AGP slot). These cards are usually used to accelerate the professional computer-aided design applications employed in the fields of architecture, machining, engineering, and similar fields.



    as you can see, every agp specification calls for a different voltage, and it is up to the motherboard manufacturer to determine how many different signaling voltagesthey want to support. most will be 1x/2x, 1x/2x/4x, 2x/4x/8x, or 4x/8x. if the bios says it will handle it, then you are safe, and most video cards will tell you what they will work with as well. most 8x cards can handle the 1.5v signal of 4x, some will even handle the 3.3v of 2x/1x.


    this should conclude this lesson in AGP slots and compatability. any further questions can be emailed to [email protected] j/k. I hope this helps not only you, but others who might have some uncertainty about what will work in their computer.
    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -Albert Einstein
    The two most common elements in the universe are Hydrogen and stupidity. -Harlan Ellison

    If all else fails: "rm -rf /"

  24.  

  25. #13

  26.  
  27. #14

    TheFeniX's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Age
    34
    Posts
    3,281
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: AGP question

    For the record, I ran into an issue with trying to install a VooDoo 5 5500 AGP card into a 4x compatible board some years ago. This problem stemed from 3DFX's quirks about making their own standards (like Glide....). As it turns out the VooDoo 5 was actually a hybrid 2x/4x card, but still used the 2x form factor.

    Long story short: there was a notch in the old AGP slots (which isn't there anymore) so I had to give up the last production 3DFX card to the PC Gods.

    Although, I still have that card in a plastic bag here. Best. Card. Ever.

  28.  

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Back to top