Welcome to Tactical Gamer

User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Laptop CPU upgrade question

I don't know much about hardware, but I have researched my particular laptop's configuration (http://www.anandtech.com/mobile/showdoc.aspx?i=1679&p=1) and have read a guide on how to upgrade (http://reviews.cnet.com/4520-10163_7....html?tag=bnav)

In the upgrade guide, it lists the Pentium M laptop processor. I would like to get this but am unsure if there are compatibility issues. My current computer is the Compaq Presario 900 1500+, a Radeon IGP notebook powered by a Mobile Athlon XP 1500+ processor. Would I be able to install the Pentium M?

Thanks in advance,
    very respectfully,
    Larry

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: Laptop CPU upgrade question

I'm no expert on pc's, but I dont think you can switch form an AMD to an INTEL cpu.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Yeah you're right. I'm also asking this in another forum, so here is my follow up question

"Hm, is there a CPU similar in performance that would work?

Such as this?
    http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=19-103-490&depa=1"

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

you can't really upgrade laptop cpu's, your best bet is to buy a new laptop, but if your a gamer then why not get a desktop?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

The A64 chip would not work. Your notebook CPU socket is different plus I doubt that the motherboard chip supports the A64. Try something in the Athlon XP range.
    JO Guides & Tutorials
    Team Element - It's who you game with.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by uniacid
    you can't really upgrade laptop cpu's, your best bet is to buy a new laptop, but if your a gamer then why not get a desktop?