Welcome to Tactical Gamer

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29
  1. #1

    leejo's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Age
    47
    Posts
    7,309
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    New graphics card, crummy performance

    I just bought an MSI FX5600 TD128 to replace a 64MB card, but I get no better performance at all. I've spent all day downloading latest drivers, fiddling with this and that...

    My motherboard has an AGP4x and the card is 8x, but there should still be a significant increase, no? Twice the memory and a faster chipset? I'm getting high 20's to mid 30's fps on 1600x1024 with all settings on minimum. GUH!

    Please help! Any suggestions?

    Thanks!

    leejo

  2.  
  3. #2

    =Sarc='s Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What's the processor? It may be the bottleneck in your system.

    1600x1024? That's an odd resolution. What game is this? Don't expect the highest resolution if you're playing RvS or any other recent game.
    JO Guides & Tutorials
    Team Element - It's who you game with.

  4.  
  5. #3

    leejo's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Age
    47
    Posts
    7,309
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm runing an AMD1.2XP with 512 MB RAM playing GR. The resolution is pretty high but the point is that I'm getting the same frame rates as before. Do you think the CPU is a bottleneck in this case?

    Oops..1600x1200x32 is the resolution actually.

    Thanks!

  6.  

  7. #4

    _Ender_'s Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    I am lost, if you know where I am then please feel free to tell me.
    Age
    37
    Posts
    2,048
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well you could always turn the res down.

  8.  
  9. #5

    CingularDuality's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Dallas/Ft. Worth area of Texas, USA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    16,861
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by _Ender_
    Well you could always turn the res down.
    But I'd only do that if framerates are actually causing problems...

    What exactly is your fps anyway, leejo?

  10.  
  11. #6

    leejo's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Age
    47
    Posts
    7,309
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi all. Thanks for the responses. The FPS depends on the background, but it tends to be in the 20's to 40's.

    I could turn my res down, but I'm really interested in understanding why the old card with half the memory got the same performance as this new card, and what I need to do to get this card performing up to its potential.

    Thanks for any ideas!

    leejo

  12.  

  13. #7

    _Ender_'s Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    I am lost, if you know where I am then please feel free to tell me.
    Age
    37
    Posts
    2,048
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Isnt the recommended for GR something like a 1 gig anyway? So I would imagine that to play at that res you will need a better cpu.

  14.  
  15. #8

    =Sarc='s Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would say that the CPU is the bottleneck. GR tends to need quite a bit of processing so it's just as important as a good video card.

    Do you really have to play at 1600x1200? I have a 9700 Pro and a XP2400 and play at 1280x1024. You'll probably get 10fps and it should look close to the same. I barely notice a difference between those two resolutions, plus the command map scales to a larger size.
    JO Guides & Tutorials
    Team Element - It's who you game with.

  16.  
  17. #9

    leejo's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Age
    47
    Posts
    7,309
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No I don't have to run at such a high resolution. I want to because a very good player told me that's the resolution at which he runs so I was giving it a try. Also, I feel like I've gotten a new sports car and when I gripe that it only goes 0-60 in 14 seconds just like my old Colt everyone says "what's your rush?"

    I think I'll be picking up a new CPU soon... Thanks for the advice, all.

    leejo

  18.  

  19. #10

    _Ender_'s Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    I am lost, if you know where I am then please feel free to tell me.
    Age
    37
    Posts
    2,048
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I personally like my games at 1024x768 but then again I'm not a good player

  20.  
  21. #11

    =Sarc='s Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Did you know Badger runs at a lower resolution?

  22.  
  23. #12

    RandomGuy's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    K-W, Ont.
    Age
    35
    Posts
    892
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have a 1.2 GHz K7 as well. I'd guess your performance is limited by your cpu.

  24.  

  25. #13


    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    NE Outer London, UK
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,428
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    there isnt a 1.2 XP...well. and that card isnt the best, put it on 1280x1024.....1600x1200 pushes an ATI9700pro, and thats 2x better than that Nvidia crap you got (sorry but im speaking my mind)
    From Adam Webb

  26.  
  27. #14
    Emanon
    Guest
    I find that every piece of your comp affects your fps. I had a geforce3 ti500 64meg on a 1900xp and an epox board and i found that by changing my cpu to a 2800 it helped alot not to mention my fsb could now be at 333mhz.

    When i bought my 5600 with 256meg I too was like WTF, but then when i got a motherboard with the 8x agp slot and duel channel DDR it blew the other one away.

    So if i was you i would be looking at a MB and cpu upgrade

    BTW the FX cards are not trying to push the openGL area. They are focused on Direct3D games and such.

  28.  
  29. #15

    leejo's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Age
    47
    Posts
    7,309
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If I understand you correctly, Emanon, for better GR performance I'd be better off taking this card back and jacking up my cpu and motherboard. Then later getting the Radion-stle card. Is that accurate?

    Thanks everyone!

    leejo

  30.  
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Back to top