Welcome to Tactical Gamer

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29

Thread: OC'ing

  1. #1


    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    310
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    OC'ing

    Gonna overclock my 2400XP, stock is 2 ghz, I have all aircooled with 6 fans, what is the recommendation that i should go up to without explosions and any tips, I'm quite new to this tweaking business?

  2.  
  3. #2

    HSantal's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Age
    61
    Posts
    970
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Spectre, paging Spectre.
    I do what I can.

    cpgf: (n.) Acronym describing a significant other who has not yet acheived full spousal status and is in possession of a cable modem; of note because at YOUR house, you still have dial-up -- and crappy dialup at that.


  4.  
  5. #3


    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Where ever I really want to be.
    Posts
    1,005
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Offence chamber?

    ...

    Err..

    NS thing
    - 52

  6.  

  7. #4

    Cobra's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Mesa
    Age
    40
    Posts
    684
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by HSantal'
    Spectre, paging Spectre.

    hehe...I think he is getting burnt out!

  8.  
  9. #5
    Spectre
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Cobra
    Quote Originally Posted by HSantal'
    Spectre, paging Spectre.

    hehe...I think he is getting burnt out!
    NO FREAKING WAY !!! I'm just hitting my stride !

    Vapor...I need :

    Motherboard type

    Ram type and amount and number of sticks

    Power supply information

    CPU information

    CPU Heatsink type and type of fan

    Current temps

  10.  
  11. #6


    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    NE Outer London, UK
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,428
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    indeed.

    keep it under 60c
    i think he has an Nforce2 setup
    2400 is 133fsb bus isnt it?
    2400 is locked at default multi
    From Adam Webb

  12.  

  13. #7
    Spectre
    Guest
    I know a special unlocking trick...however i doubt Vapor has the bullocks to place a wire in his CPU socket and then press the CPU on top of it, therefore unlocking the multiplier.

    The wire trick would unlock his FSB options and ALL multipliers.

    We'll see.

  14.  
  15. #8


    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    NE Outer London, UK
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,428
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i just use a conductive paint on the MB or, if i CBA to take the board out, i do it on the CPU pins..the later is harder
    From Adam Webb

  16.  
  17. #9


    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    NE Outer London, UK
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,428
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    **** man i just had the fright of my life....

    i tried 233fsb while using /12 CPU speed for mem (197mhz i think it was)

    booted fine... ran a few tests of prime (about 5minutes) then started 3dmark...BAMMMMMMM locks hard

    reboot

    R300 BIOS reflash tool came up and the bios for system settings kept crashing also

    first time ive **** myself for ages... lol
    From Adam Webb

  18.  

  19. #10

    =Sarc='s Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The wire trick isn't that hard to unlock the multiplier. I find it was much easier than using conductive paint. Just find the right holes and stick a wire in it, then the CPU on top of that.
    JO Guides & Tutorials
    Team Element - It's who you game with.

  20.  
  21. #11
    Spectre
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by =Sarc=
    The wire trick isn't that hard to unlock the multiplier. I find it was much easier than using conductive paint. Just find the right holes and stick a wire in it, then the CPU on top of that.
    I gave you the diagram didn't I??? Or did I mark the proper holes and give you the 22 Gauge brass wire???

  22.  
  23. #12

    =Sarc='s Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You marked the holes with black marker. It couldn't be clearer than that! Even without the marker, it's not hard for somebody to look at the picture and the socket to match up the holes.
    JO Guides & Tutorials
    Team Element - It's who you game with.

  24.  

  25. #13


    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    310
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok So i got,

    MSI K7N2L,
    1 x 512MB 2700 Crucial RAM,
    550W Dual cooled PSUm
    Athlon XP2400+ All stock settings,

    Coolermaster HHC-001 & stock fan (http://www.frostytech.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=1128)

    Gonna buy some arctic silver 5

    Case is cooled by 2 intake, 2 exhaust YSTECH 80mm fans

    Don't know temps.....

  26.  
  27. #14


    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    310
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Edit: According to MBM5, I'm at 59 degrees cpu and i'm virtually idle :s

  28.  
  29. #15

    Cobra's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Mesa
    Age
    40
    Posts
    684
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I want to see that diagram!

  30.  
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Back to top