Welcome to Tactical Gamer

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Mouse

  1. #1
    Emanon
    Guest

    Mouse

    Is there a way to get rid the sloppyness of the mousemovement?

  2.  
  3. #2

    Apophis's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Northeast, USA
    Age
    43
    Posts
    8,338
    Blog Entries
    12
    Mentioned
    113 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Mouse

    Quote Originally Posted by Emanon
    Is there a way to get rid the sloppyness of the mousemovement?
    Yes, reduce your video settings.. In all probability it's not the mouse being choppy, it's just a very poor framerate due to asking your system/video card to do too much at once.

    Diplomacy is the art of saying "good doggie" while looking for a bigger stick.

    43452045524748454146204742204754202d204642424121

  4.  
  5. #3

    Tempus's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Age
    46
    Posts
    6,501
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Mouse

    The graphics were laggy even in 800x600.

  6.  

  7. #4

    Apophis's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Northeast, USA
    Age
    43
    Posts
    8,338
    Blog Entries
    12
    Mentioned
    113 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Mouse

    Quote Originally Posted by Tempus
    The graphics were laggy even in 800x600.
    Try going to 16 bit instead of 32 bit.. For me, going from 1024x768 32 bit down to 1024x768 16 bit made a MAJOR difference.

    Diplomacy is the art of saying "good doggie" while looking for a bigger stick.

    43452045524748454146204742204754202d204642424121

  8.  
  9. #5
    Emanon
    Guest

    Re: Mouse

    agreed, yet, I have alot of my settings turned down and it feels still a bit sloopy.

    I have a beefy system 2.

  10.  
  11. #6

    asch's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Lake Wylie, SC
    Age
    41
    Posts
    7,647
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Mouse

    I'm running the latest drivers with all video / sound settings maxed out. It's not as smooth as vanilla but I'm not experience the problems other ppl are having. I'm in single player with 20 bots and AI turned up.
    |TG-12th| asch

  12.  

  13. #7

    asch's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Lake Wylie, SC
    Age
    41
    Posts
    7,647
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Mouse

    Here a couple things that may help performance, not in any particular order...

    1) Make sure your mouse is using a USB 2.0 port vs. a 1.1 port. I've read several posts that this helps dramatically with the mouse lag.

    2) In the default.con file, add game.soundbuffersize 400
    Some people have actually made that number larger and saw even better performance.

    3) Also in default.con, change the following line
    Game.GameLevelPath BFVietnam/Levels/Operation_Irving/
    to
    Game.GameLevelPath BFVietnam/Levels/Ho_Chi_Minh_Trail_alt/

    4) In the VideoDefault.con file, change
    renderer.allowAllRefreshRates 0
    to
    renderer.allowAllRefreshRates 1

    5) Add more memory. Several comments have been made that BFV uses more memory than vanilla did and that more memory may help. I'm not fully sold on this one though if you have 512 MB or more.

    6) Get a copy of CloneCD or alcohol and make and ISO of CD#1 and mount that ISO. This helps with map loading times.

    7) Turn off music. Several comments have been made that this help with sound causing lag.

    8) Update video drivers. Some folks feel the drivers included with the CD run better than the latest from nVidia. I have the latest but have not compared them to those included with the CD.

    Some of these are similar to what was suggested for vanilla BF / DC. I just wanted to re-post them for folks to see.
    |TG-12th| asch

  14.  
  15. #8

    RYN's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Originally from NF now in NB
    Age
    45
    Posts
    248
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Re: Mouse

    Quote Originally Posted by Apophis
    Try going to 16 bit instead of 32 bit.. For me, going from 1024x768 32 bit down to 1024x768 16 bit made a MAJOR difference.

    Apo,

    I only have the option of "1024X768 @ 75" and so on snd so on with different resolutions. I'm assuming the "@75" is the monitor refresh rate. I think it goes from 60-85 or something. Where can I change from 32 bit to 16 bit?

    This is with DC of course.
    "On My Commad, Unleash Hell"
    "And Let Slip The Dogs Of War"

  16.  
  17. #9

    asch's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Lake Wylie, SC
    Age
    41
    Posts
    7,647
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Mouse

    Quote Originally Posted by RYN
    I only have the option of "1024X768 @ 75" and so on snd so on with different resolutions. I'm assuming the "@75" is the monitor refresh rate. I think it goes from 60-85 or something. Where can I change from 32 bit to 16 bit?
    See step #4 in my previous post. That post is for BFV but it should be similar for other versions.
    |TG-12th| asch

  18.  

  19. #10
    Emanon
    Guest

    Re: Mouse

    Great write up asch, it worked.

    Thanks alot,
    Emanon

  20.  
  21. #11

    asch's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Lake Wylie, SC
    Age
    41
    Posts
    7,647
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Mouse

    Quote Originally Posted by asch
    2) In the default.con file, add game.soundbuffersize 400
    Some people have actually made that number larger and saw even better performance.
    I've heard from several people that changing this value to 1000 helps even more.
    |TG-12th| asch

  22.  

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Back to top