Welcome to Tactical Gamer

User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1


    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Lock on learning process

    Hi
    In my opinion lomac tutorials included in original game are not very good
    ,and being not interactive makes it hard to learn
    after lot of retries i begin mastering a10.
    So i tried the first mission from a10 campaign and woowww that s hard !
    First question : note i play in ace mode(i m not ace but i like realism)
    so the enemy units have no name uppon them so i can t identify and locate
    them with this
    ->so how can i first locate a group of enemy units (the key 'change target'
    won t work
    each time) . i have signals on TWS (little round green screen for warnings)
    but it gives only headings not the distances!
    -> once i locate a group of units how can i know which unit in the group
    is the AA?
    the display from maverick is very poor when u re not in optical mode and
    makes it impossible
    to see any difference between a btr 70 and a shilka for example even if you
    put the 6x zoom
    .I tried to get closer but i get shot quickly when i do so... so i guess i
    gonna use maverick
    ->last question : did u see all the defenses on the airport in this first
    mission from a10 campaign
    it seems very hard to me
    Well i have help with AI but...
    ->Last question : how do u activate ILS when u re about to land?Even under
    1500
    there s no cross on screen... so i land like with su 25...

    the change target problem is a bug?I noticed that when i m in navigation
    mode
    my key works ok to switch between way points...
    Note that i won t patch until i finish all ingame tutorials because when i
    did
    in the past it changed language from my native language (french)to english


    any help would be very appreciated

    NB: Lot of people use the russian aircrafts ??!!
    Ok they re very good for dogfights but in the same time everybody say
    the f15 can shot you before u know he s here , so i must be missing
    something...
    I thought everybody would be playing US aircrafts.

  2.  
  3. #2

    USN_Squid's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Denver
    Age
    46
    Posts
    2,677
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Lock on learning process

    Welcome to TG!

    Actually, in this Sim the russian aircraft are more effective in Air-to-Air, and easier in many repects IMHO. As for the rest of your questions check out this link for incredible tutorial tracks:

    http://flankertraining.com/lomac/index.html
    Last edited by USN_Squid; 05-02-2004 at 10:39 PM.
    New to TG? Start here!

  4.  
  5. #3

    =Sarc='s Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Lock on learning process

    There's no great way of figuring out enemy unit types without the labels. Frankly, I don't know how you would in real life since the TV screen's resolution is so low and the unit's so small. Your best bet is to start taking out units and hope you get all the AA or bring more friends along for the mission. I would suggest turning down the difficulty level or at least turning on the labels. If you have such a hard time completing missions, it might be more fun with an easier difficulty level.

    'Change Target' probably won't work on the hardest difficulty. You wanted to fly with realism and there you have it.

    The TEWS doesn't give distance. It just tells you whether you're being scanned and if there are missile launches on you. If there's AWACS in the mission, you can radio for the vector to the nearest bandit and you'll get updates of enemies in the area.

    For ILS, I don't use it to land unless it's bad weather. However, you can activate it by following through all the waypoints. You can also activate it by pressing '1' while you're in NAV mode or radioing the tower for a landing request.
    JO Guides & Tutorials
    Team Element - It's who you game with.

  6.  

  7. #4

    leejo's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Age
    47
    Posts
    7,309
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Lock on learning process

    This loman app (referenced in Squid's posted link) download seems doa. Could we post it in our downloads section, por favor?

  8.  
  9. #5


    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    926
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Lock on learning process

    This game has a STEEEP learning curve.. (for me at least)

    I tried to play some of Jex's missions, but I can't find the button to launch of a carrier. I always end up in the water.

  10.  
  11. #6

    leejo's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Age
    47
    Posts
    7,309
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Lock on learning process

    hell I'm just trying to learn to land. Launching from carriers is way down the line.

  12.  

  13. #7


    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    926
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Lock on learning process

    hehehe... I can land an A-10 fairly decent now....

    I landed once, and snapped my gear right off. Must have been funny seeing me rev up the engines tring to taxi, and not going anywhere....

    I tried doing some of the f-15 training, but there's none that launch off the carrier..

  14.  
  15. #8

    =Sarc='s Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Lock on learning process

    I think only the Su-33 can do carrier takeoffs and landings in LOMAC. Anyway, get us together and we can really get you flying. It's way better than going through tutorials and SP missions.
    JO Guides & Tutorials
    Team Element - It's who you game with.

  16.  
  17. #9

    USN_Squid's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Denver
    Age
    46
    Posts
    2,677
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Lock on learning process

    I agree that just getting in game with experienced folks will help you get over the "steep learning curve", however, those video tutorials by Ironhand ROCK! They have made the technical more understandable.

    here is the link again: Video Track Tutorials - Watch and learn!

    And this link seems to work for the Loman mod manager: Loman
    Cmon let's fly!
    New to TG? Start here!

  18.  

  19. #10
    Shad0wRIP
    Guest

    Re: Lock on learning process

    Quote Originally Posted by leejo
    hell I'm just trying to learn to land. Launching from carriers is way down the line.
    Hey Lee,

    you ever want to learn anything to do with the A10 or the f15 let me know also have some experience with the Mig29....I'm always up for some flying!!!

  20.  
  21. #11

    leejo's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Age
    47
    Posts
    7,309
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Lock on learning process

    Cc! 678910

  22.  
  23. #12

    leejo's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Age
    47
    Posts
    7,309
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Lock on learning process

    Quote Originally Posted by USN_Squid
    I agree that just getting in game with experienced folks will help you get over the "steep learning curve", however, those video tutorials by Ironhand ROCK! They have made the technical more understandable.

    here is the link again: Video Track Tutorials - Watch and learn!

    And this link seems to work for the Loman mod manager: Loman
    Cmon let's fly!

    These tracks are lots of fun. I enjoy just watching them (it's lots easier than trying to replicate them!).

  24.  

  25. #13

    jex's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Age
    45
    Posts
    2,580
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Lock on learning process

    Quote Originally Posted by fr1j0l3
    This game has a STEEEP learning curve.. (for me at least)

    I tried to play some of Jex's missions, but I can't find the button to launch of a carrier. I always end up in the water.
    There isn't a launch button. What you need to do is lower your flaps fully (shift-f), throttle all the way forward and get the gear up as soon as you're off the boat.

    The AC will be held in place until full after burner is reached and then you'll launch. Leave the plane's angle pretty much as it is when you leave the carrier. You may need to pull up a little but don't pull too much otherwise you'll stall.

    Good luck
    Jex.


  26.  

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Back to top